

POLICY

Title: Circulation and Loan Rules

Number: LS-02

Cancels: November 18, 2024

Approved: August 15, 2024

Review: August 15, 2027

I. PURPOSE AND SCOPE

To ensure that library services are available in an equitable way with a uniform system of Circulation and loan rules.

II. DEFINITIONS AND REFERENCES

- A. Juvenile an individual under 18 years of age unless married, emancipated and/or has children. Juveniles ages 13-17 are considered teens.
- B. Director Brevard County Library Services Director.
- C. Section 741.24 Florida Statutes, Civil action against parents; destruction or theft of property by minor.
- D. Chapter 15, Article III, Brevard County Code, Brevard County Libraries.
- E. Corporate Card A Library card registered to a Brevard business/organization and its employees/members for company use.
- F. Non-Resident and individual not permanently or temporarily residing in Brevard County.
- G. Reciprocal Borrower Resident of a Florida County that has a Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement with Brevard County Libraries.
- H. Indebtedness any money owed and/or any overdue library materials.
- I. Library Services Procedure LS-14 Patron Bankruptcies.
- J. Library Services Procedure LS-6 Library Patron Refunds.
- K. Library Services Procedure LS-15 Confidentiality of Patron Records.

III. REGISTRATION

- A. Brevard County Residents Three-year Renewable Card.
 - 1. Adult registration requirements:
 - a. Individuals must be 18 years of age or older, married, emancipated and/or have children.
 - b. Individuals shall apply at any Brevard County Library and verify current Brevard County residency by presenting a photo ID and one of the following:
 - Valid Florida Driver's License, Florida Identification Card or valid vehicle registration
 - 2) Property tax receipt, deed, or mortgage
 - 3) Lease for a minimum of six months
 - 4) Valid Brevard County Voter Registration Card
 - 5) Declaration of domicile and citizenship issued by Brevard County
 - 6) Valid Florida Highway Patrol Identification Card

- Active military or dependent identification card with service member's DOD ID number, additionally a permanent home address or local installation address and unit is required
- 8) Public assistance eligibility card and a copy of application with a Brevard County address filed within the last 6 months

For grant eligibility requirements, Brevard County Libraries collect demographic information of every type of library card at the time of registration.

- 2. Juvenile registration requirements.
 - a. A juvenile whose parent(s) or legal guardian is a resident of Brevard County may register for library privileges.
 - b. Before a library card may be issued:
 - 1) The parent or legal guardian must present accepted proof of residency
 - 2) The parent/legal guardian must not have a delinquent account
- 3. Alternate juvenile registrations
 - a. My First Library Card -
 - 1) The child must be under the age of six, not have previously registered for a Brevard County Library Card and meet the requirements of 2.b.
 - 2) My First Library Card is replaced upon its expiration or loss with a regular Brevard County Library System Card. The original card may be kept by the child.
 - b. Guardian Ad Litem Card If a child is a foster child, he/she is eligible for a Guardian Ad Litem Card issued through the Catherine Schweinsberg Rood Central Library.
 - 1) The Guardian Ad Litem office has a special card application that they will pass on to their foster parents.
 - 2) This card allows the child to check out 5 items, have one renewal and one hold. It is valid for one year.

B. Temporary Registrations

- 1. 6 Month Non-Renewable Card.
 - a. New Brevard County Residents New Brevard County residents who do not have sufficient local identification to obtain a Resident Card may obtain a Temporary Card by presenting a PHOTO ID showing permanent residence PLUS one of the following to verify Brevard County residency:
 - 1) Lease for less than 6 months but at least one month
 - 2) Current electric, water or telephone bill
 - 3) Checkbook with local address
 - 4) Current rent receipt or rent deposit receipt
 - b. Temporary Brevard County Residents Temporary residents of Brevard County may obtain a Temporary card by presenting one of the above (listed in B.1.a.) to verify their Brevard County address. For persons residing in Brevard County for less than one (1) week, the Library will provide access to technology.
 - c. A new Brevard County resident who does not have enough proof to qualify for the three (3) year card. A temporary Brevard County resident is one who can show proof of local residency as listed in B.1.a (1)-(4) and who will be living here less than 6 months. At the end of 6 months, the card is no longer valid. When the patron returns to Brevard County, they would apply for a new 6-month card.

- C. One Year Renewable Card.
 - Reciprocal Borrower Non-residents who have a library card from one of the libraries with a Reciprocal Agreement with Brevard County Libraries may obtain a one-year renewable card by presenting accepted proof of residency.
 - a. Available checkout of physical items
 - b. Use of electronic resources in the library
 - c. No holds may be placed with this card
 - 2. Non-residents (fee)
 - A non-resident may obtain library privileges for one year by presenting a photo ID
 which includes the permanent residence of the individual.
 - b. Library personnel shall ensure:
 - 1) Residencies are verified by accepted proof.
 - 2) Payment in conformance with the most current fee resolution of the Board of County Commissioners is received before any materials are borrowed.
 - 3. College Student Any student of a local college may obtain library privileges for one year if they do not have a permanent Brevard County address. Valid student ID card, a photo ID and/or valid college library card must be shown.
 - 4. Corporate Card
 - a. A Corporate Card is available to Brevard Businesses/Organizations which assume financial responsibility for the use of the card by its employees/members.
 - b. A letter, on corporate letter head, signed by the Director of the Organization and written according to specifics outlined must be on file at Library Services.
 - c. A Brevard County Library Corporate Card application must be completed and sent to Library Services Administration or dropped off at any Brevard Library.

Renewal of all eligible cards requires the same proof of residency as shown at the original issuance and no fines or fees attached to the card.

IV. CIRCULATION

- A. The libraries shall ensure that individuals seeking to utilize circulation and loan privileges possess a valid Brevard County Libraries card.
- B. Circulation duration limits shall be in conformance with most recent Brevard County Code or subsequent resolution of the Board of County Commissioners.
- C. Quantity limitations on the distribution of library materials may be established by individual libraries based on the nature and quantity of the materials available at the library.
- D. Equipment must be returned to the library from which it was borrowed. All other library materials may be borrowed from and returned to any Brevard County Public Library.

V. OVERDUE MATERIALS

A. Charges

- Charges for overdue, lost or damaged materials, replacement library cards and for returned checks (NSF) shall be in conformance with the current Fines & Fees Resolution of the Board of County Commissioners.
- 2. When money is collected by any library, the money received is to be retained by the library collecting the money and reported as revenue collected.
- 3. Unpaid charges will be recorded by the Integrated Library System. Auto-generated notices will be sent to the patron.
- 4. Patrons who owe more than the fine established in the most current Fines & Fees Resolution to the Brevard County Libraries shall have all library circulation privileges revoked until the patron clears his/her account or establishes a payment plan.

B. Overdue Notices

- 1. The System will prepare Coming Due, Overdue and bill notifications according to the currently approved overdue fine and fee schedule.
- 2. If fines and fees are not paid, the debt will be turned over to the contracted collection agency according to the approved fine and fee schedule.
- 3. If written notification of a patron's bankruptcy is received, all provisions detailed in Procedure LS-14 (Patron Bankruptcies) must be followed.

C. Refunds

Partial refunds may be processed in accordance with the most current Fee Resolution of the Board of County Commissioners. See Library Procedure LS-6 (Library Patron Refunds).

VI. RESERVATION OF AUTHORITY

The authority to issue or revise this procedure is reserved to the Library Services Department Director.

Wendi Bost, Library Services Director

Approved by the Brevard County Library System Board: August 15, 2024.



Dear Parent or Legal Guardian:

Your daughter/son has expressed an interest in obtaining a library card. Anyone under the age of 18 must complete the registration information requested below. Registration requires the approval of the parent or guardian. Proof of residency in Brevard County is also required.

If you are unable to come into the library, please sign the application and send one of the following forms of identification with your child. A photocopy is also acceptable:

- 1. Valid Florida Driver's License
- 2. Lease, Deed, or Mortgage
- 3. Valid Brevard County Voter Registration Card
- 4. Florida Highway Patrol Identification

There are other forms of identification which are acceptable and can be used if you are able to come into the library.

A new card may not be issued if the signing parent or guardian owes any fines or has an overdue item. If you are in that situation, please talk to your library's director about it. There are a number of options you can take to restore your account, and we'll work with you. We want your child to have a library card!

Sincerely,

Brevard County Libraries Patron Application

Child Information				
Child Full Name	Child'	Child's Birthday		
Parent Information				
I apply for the right to use the library a charged to this account, and give pro	·	ill pay fines or damages		
Parent Full Name	Florida Drive	Florida Driver's License Number or other ID		
Street Address				
City	State	Zip Code		
Phone Number	Parent Emai	Parent Email Address		
Do you give your child permission to YES NO	use the Internet on a Brevard	County Library Public PC?		
Parent's Signature				

BREVARD COUNTY LIBRARY SYSTEM Corporate Card Program

Use of Card:

• The card may be used by anyone authorized by your organization. Your organization is responsible for charges incurred for lost, damaged, or overdue materials.

Checkout Privileges:

A maximum of 20 books at any one time may be checked out. Regular loan periods apply.
 Seven (7) day books may not be checked out with a corporate library card.

Renewals:

 Books may be renewed one time only with a corporate library card if there is no reserve on the book.

Reserves:

Reserves may be placed with a corporate library card.

Charges and Fines:

Your organization will be responsible for charges levied for lost, damaged, or overdue
materials and all other fines and fees as approved by the Board of County Commissioners.
 Borrowing privileges will be stopped if fines or other charges exceed \$1.00.

Expiration of Card/Renewal:

• The card will be valid for a period of one (1) year. Do not throw the card away when it expires. The card may be renewed by submitting a new Corporate Library Card application. An application will be mailed to your organization prior to your card's expiration date. Include your Corporate Library Card number in the place provided on the application. A new letter on your corporate letterhead must also be submitted.

Changes/Lost Card:

 If the card is lost or stolen, or if there are any changes to your organization's address, phone number, or director, please notify the library's Corporate Card Representative immediately. A new card will be issued for a charge of \$1.00.

BREVARD COUNTY LIBRARY SYSTEM Corporate Card Application

Corporate Organization Name			
Street Address			
City		State	Zip Code
If renewing, what is the Corpora	te Card number?		
	Corporate Director		
Corporate Director Name			
Title			
Phone			
Signature			
So that we may serve you, pleas activities that your organization		of the type of wo	rk or service and
	Do Not Write Below This Li	ine	
Patron Number			
Renewal Date			
Application Approved	Wendi Jo Bost, Library Serv	vices Departmer	nt Director



Thank you for your interest in the Brevard County Library Corporate Card program. Corporate Cards are available to daycare centers, schools, group homes, senior citizen centers, businesses, and other approved organizations in Brevard County.

This letter and the attached policy will outline the procedures for obtaining a card, and the privileges and responsibilities of using the card. Your business or organization may have borrowing privileges for the specific purpose of allowing business, but not personal, use of library materials.

To obtain a card: Write a letter, on your Corporate letterhead, signed by the Director of the organization. Include in the letter the name of the person who will be your financial representative. This person must have the authority to sign checks on behalf of the organization. The letter should contain the following statement:

"... hereby authorize the bearer of our Corporate Library Card to check out Brevard County Public Library System materials for our organization and agree that our organization, named

Corporate Organization Name

will assume complete financial and other legal responsibilities inherent with the use of this card as detailed on the copy of the Corporate Card Policy Statement, which I have received and read."

Fill out the attached application. The application must be signed by the director of the organization, who will be the library's contact person. Application and letter may be submitted at any of our locations, or mailed to:

Brevard County Libraries Corporate Card Representative 308 Forrest Avenue Cocoa FL 32922

A card will be mailed to you within thirty (30) days.

Your organization will be responsible for fees resulting from lost or damaged materials. It is important that you read, understand, and keep on file, the attached Corporate Card policy.

If you would like further information, please feel free to call our Corporate Card representative at 321-633-1801 during office hours (8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.).