Brevard County Emergency Management will continue to review plans currently on-hand and received, but facilities will need to submit per the rule requirements. The first deadline for submission of emergency power plans to emergency management is 30 days
from the rules’ effective date (March 26, 2018), which is April 25, 2018. There are provisions in the rule that require facilities with approved emergency power plans under the emergency rules, to re-submit plans only when changes
are made to the plans (to meet the final rules’ requirements). Review time for the plan has not changed.
Please complete this crosswalk and submit it, with your emergency power plan addendum, to HealthcarePlans@brevardfl.gov.
We understand the expedited need to receive approval of facility CEMP to avoid any penalty, but our organization will continue to only approve plans which sufficiently
meet all of the State’s criteria in order to assure the safety of those living within these facilities.
AHCA Criteria Crosswalk
The crosswalk documents identify the minimum criteria to be used when developing CEMPs for residential health care facilities. The crosswalk serves as the required plan format for the
CEMP, and will also serve as the compliance review document for BCEM upon submission for review and approval pursuant to Chapter
252, Florida Statutes (F.S.). These criteria satisfy the basic emergency management requirements of 400, Part II, Florida Statutes, but are not designed to provide specific emergency medical planning guidance.
Beginning November 1, 2016, all healthcare CEMPs will be charged a minimum review fee of $62.50 based on two hours at $31.25 per hour (FL Ch. 27P-20). This minimum charge is necessary to fully
cover the review time spent on CEMPs including, but not limited to: administrative and data entry work, database and technology support, binder and update packet processing, training and
consulting to facilities that occurs beyond time spent reviewing a plan. Online Payment