COVID-19 Community Report March 17, 2021

Mar 18, 2021, 08:35 AM by Emergency Management
Community Report 20-094 March 17, 2021 7:00 PM

Community Report 20-094 March 17, 2021 7:00 PM

EOC Activation Day 376

CDC COVID-19 Vaccine Recommendations

Can I get the COVID-19 vaccine at the same time as another vaccine?

If you get a COVID-19 vaccine, wait at least 14 days before getting any other vaccine, including those for flu or shingles. If you get another vaccine first, wait at least 14 days before getting your COVID-19 vaccine.

If you were treated for COVID-19 with monoclonal antibodies or convalescent plasma, you should wait 90 days before getting a COVID-19 vaccine. Talk to your doctor if you are unsure what treatments you received or if you have questions about getting a COVID-19 vaccine.

Even if you have already had COVID-19 and recovered, you should get vaccinated. That’s because experts do not yet know how long you are protected from getting sick again after recovering. It is possible –although rare –that you could be infected with the virus that causes COVID-19 again. Learn more about why getting vaccinated is a safer way to build protectionthan getting infected.

COVID-19 Numbers

Daily Positive Cases

(select Brevard and cases by county tab)

Total Test Results to Date

(Scroll to Brevard report)

COVID-19 Vaccine Information

Florida Phase 1 Priorities (Revised 3/9 per Executive Order 21-62)

  • Long-Term Care Facility residents and staff
  • Persons 60 years of age and older
  • Health care personnel with direct patient contact
  • K-12 school employees 50 years of age and older
  • Sworn law enforcement officers 50 years of age and older
  • Firefighters 50 years of age and older
  • Persons age 64-18 with determination of extreme vulnerability via a physician’s attestation form

Vaccine Operation Highlights

Florida Department of Health in Brevard, and the partners they support, have provided 49,294vaccines since January 4, 2021

Governor DeSantis Executive Order 21-62 became effective on Monday, March 15, reducing the eligibility age to anyone over the age of 60

  • Additionally, the EO broadened the vaccine locations for individuals determined to have extreme vulnerabilities to COVID-19, from hospitals and pharmacies to any location currently providing vaccines with proof of eligibility
  • Appointments are still required via standard scheduling processes

Per the Florida Department of Health, approximately 54% of Brevard County residents over 65 have received their first dose of vaccine

Per the Florida Department of Health, the total number of people vaccinated in Brevard County is 112,129

The Florida Division of Emergency Management, in coordination with the Department of Health, conducted a 3-day “Pop-Up” vaccination POD in Barefoot Bay, vaccinating just under 3,000 individuals

The Florida Division of Emergency Management has launched a contact email for homebound seniors to register for the COVID-19 vaccine to be brought directly to them

To register, send your request and contact information to: HomeboundVaccine@em.myflorida.com

Vaccine Resources

Brevard County Emergency Management COVID-19 Vaccine information

Department of Health Daily COVID-19 Vaccine Update/Report

CDC COVID -19 Vaccine information for You and Your Family

Moderna COVID-19 Vaccine Fact sheet for Recipients and Caregivers

Moderna COVID-19 Vaccine information

Brevard County COVID-19 Vaccine distribution sites

LocationDetails
DOH-Viera

To pre-register for vaccine appointments and be notified when appointments are available:

  • Go on-line at www.myvaccine.fl.gov
  • Call Brevard’s scheduling line: 866-201-5420
  • For individuals who are deaf, deafened, hard of hearing, or who are deafblind a Brevard TTY has been established: 833-476-1525

Individuals receiving a vaccine are required to bring:

  • COVID-19 Vaccine Screening and Consent Form
  • Identification form (FL ID, passport, healthcare badge, etc.)
  • Individuals with an out-of-state ID should also provide proof of residency or seasonal residency (examples: utility bill, property tax receipt, lease agreement for Florida property, etc.)
Publix

Locations:

All Publix’s in Brevard with pharmacies (22) offer COVID-19 Vaccine

For more information and to schedule appointments:

Publix COVID-19 vaccine Information

Sam’s Club

Location:

450 Townsend Rd, Cocoa

For more information and to schedule appointments:

Sam’s Club COVID-19 Vaccine information

Walmart

Locations:

  • 1000 N Wickham Rd, Melbourne
  • 3950 N Wickham Rd, Melbourne
  • 8500 N Wickham Rd, Melbourne

For more information and to schedule appointments:

Walmart COVID-19 vaccination information

Winn-Dixie

Location:

  • 190 Malabar Road. SW, Palm Bay
  • US Hwy 1,Micco

For more information and to schedule appointments:

Winn-Dixie COVID-19 vaccine information

Appointments are required for all locations

Brevard County COVID-19 Testing Sites

EFSC Palm Bay Campus (State Operated Site)

  • Drive through, no appointment required
  • Monday Sunday, 9 AM to 5 PM
  • 250 Community College Parkway. (Use the entrance from San Filippo Dr. SE & Jupiter Blvd.)
  • Testing available for adults and children of all ages
  • Rapid antigen tests with results in as soon as 15 minutes now available
  • Insurance information will be requested but is not required to receive a test
  • There will be no copay or any fee charged
  • Identification is no longer required but does expedite the process

Health First

  • Appointment required, call 321-434-3131
  • Monday Saturday, 9 AM to 12 PM
  • Pro Health & Fitness, 255 Borman Drive, Merritt Island

Parrish

Appointment required for locations, call 321-268-6139 or text “covid test” to 321-204-1699.

  • Tuesday, 1:30 to 3:30 PM, at the Parrish Health and Fitness Center parking lot, 2210 Cheney Hwy, Titusville
  • Wednesday, 12 PM to 3 PM, at the Greater St. James Missionary Baptist Church, grass lot south of church 2396 Harry T. Moore Ave. Mims
  • Thursday, 12 PM to 1 PM, at the Harry T. Moore Social Services Center parking lot, 725 S. Deleon Ave. Titusville
  • Friday, 9 AM to 12 PM, at the Parrish Medical Offices parking lot, 7075 US 1 Port St. John
  • Saturday, 9AM to 11 AM, at the Gibson Youth Center parking lot, 835 Sycamore St. Titusville

COVID-19 Testing Sites are experiencing increased demand, longer lines and/or increased wait times may occur.

Feeding Operations

For information on food pantry locations and how to access help, utilize the United Way of Brevard’s COVID-19 Community Resource guide. It is recommended that you call ahead to verify availability

Brevard County Public Schools continue to offer meals for all children up to 18 years old at various food distribution sites through June 30, 2021.

Food distribution sites are open Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays.

Pop-up Pantry Operations as of 3/17

ActivityAmount
Staging Area3.33 Million Pounds Received
Pop-up Pantries2.78 Million Meals Distributed
Families Assisted88,913 Households

Community Partner Operations as of 3/17

ActivityAmount
BPS Feeding Program5.4 Million Meals Distributed (9/16/20 - 3/12/21)
Food Banks15.20 Million Meals Distributed (as of 2/26/21)
Meals on Wheel program8,101 Meals Distributed (as of 2/22/21 - 2/26/21)

Brevard County Updates

Brevard County Government has a limited amount of funds to assist families who have lost a loved one due to Coronavirus.

The application for the program is available at the Community Action Agency (Dr. Joe Lee Smith Community Center, 415 Stone Street, Cocoa, FL 32922), or via Brevard County’s Housing and Human Services website

Eligibility requirements include:

  • Cause of death on the death certificate must be directly or indirectly related to Coronavirus (COVID-19)
  • Example of indirect –heart attack (main) exacerbated by coronavirus
  • Brevard resident
  • Household income must be below 150% of poverty ($39,300 for a family of 4)

The Emergency Rental Assistance Program provides financial assistance and housing stability services for those impacted by COVID-19

Eligibility requirements include:

  • Applicant is a resident of Brevard County.
  • Applicant is at or below 80% of Area Median Income.
  • The applicant must sign all required documents or their application will be rejected/denied.
  • Documentation of all income from the entire Household as reported on the Household Income Section of the application (include 2 months of bank statements, pay stubs, etc., or a 2020 tax return (IRS Form 1040)).
  • All members of a household must be accounted for in the application.
  • For applications filled out by hand, please make sure that the writing is clear and legible.

EOC Partner Status

PartnerStatus
2-1-1Cumulative COVID-19 Calls to date : 57,924
Patrick Air Force BasePatrick Air Force Base COVID-19 Updates
Brevard Public Schools

Brevard Public Schools Covid-19 Dashboard is now available, providing information on the schools with COVID-19 positive cases, as well as quarantine statistics for individual schools. The site is updated every Tuesday and Friday

Brevard Public Schools COVID 19 (Coronavirus) Updates.

Over the weekend, in partnership with DOH, Law Enforcement (Sherriff’s Office and Municipal Police Departments) and Emergency Management held a closed POD for K 12 employees, sworn law enforcement officers, and firefighters 50 and over, vaccinating 1,265 individual.

Space Coast Area Transit

Call 321-633-1878 for more information or visit Space Coast Area Transit

Cape Canaveral

Cape Canaveral COVID-19 Information

Cocoa

Face coverings are required in places open to the public

City of Cocoa COVID-19 Information

Cocoa Beach

City of Cocoa Beach COVID-19 Information

Grant - Valkaria

Grant Valkaria COVID-19 Information

Indialantic

Town of Indialantic COVID-19 Information

Indian Harbour Beach

Indian Harbour Beach COVID-19 Information

Malabar

Malabar COVID-19 Information or call 321-727-7764.

Melbourne

City of Melbourne COVID-19 Information

Melbourne BeachMelbourne Beach COVID-19 Information
Melbourne Village

Daily operations continue by phone, email or by appointment only. Visitors are required to wear masks.

E-mail Melbourne Village, call (321) 723-8300 or visit Melbourne Village website.

Palm Bay

Palm Bay COVID-19 information.

Palm Shores

Palm Shores Town hall is open to the public, face covering are required for anyone entering town hall.

Rockledge

The use of face masks is strongly encouraged within the city limits through April 30, 2021.

Rockledge COVID-19 Information

Satellite Beach

Resolution No. 1032 encourages residents and visitors in Satellite Beach to continue wearing face coverings to stop the spread of Covid-19

Satellite Beach COVID-19 Information

Titusville

Titusville COVID-19 information

West Melbourne

The mask requirement in essential businesses has been extended to March 22, 2021

West Melbourne COVID-19 information

State and National Updates

As part of the Governor’s partnership with minority churches in underserved communities to distribute COVID-19 vaccine, Brevard held two events over the weekend at the below locations:

Per the CDC, as of March 15, more than 71 million people in the United States had received at least one dose of COVID-19 vaccine. Of those, more than 38 million have completed their second doses

The CDC updated its guidance for fully vaccinated individuals. Fully vaccinated individuals can gather indoors with other fully vaccinated people without wearing a mask, gather indoors with unvaccinated people from one other household without masks, and do not need to isolate if exposed to someone who has COVID-19 unless living in a group setting

In this video from The White House, Dr. Fauci talks about the FDA authorization for the Johnson & Johnson COVID-19 vaccine, how it works, and why he encourages you to use any of the three vaccines that are available to you in your area

Contact Information

Brevard County

Brevard County Emergency Management is also providing updates via the following social media accounts:

Text Message Updates: Text BrevardEOC to 888-777

State / National