Residential Tiny House on Wheels Permit Application
Application requires review by county staff. Contractors, who are registered online users, can apply online, upload documents, monitor application progress, schedule inspections, and pay fees 24 hours a day / 7 days a week through Brevard's Advanced Service Site (BASS). Access BASS
You will be notified by email of any changes made to your application status.
All information is intended as a guide and may not cover every situation. Additional information may be required dependent on individual project circumstances.
Type of Work
Residential: Installation (set-up) of new or replacement Tiny House on Wheels - a vehicular portable unit on a single chassis and mounted on wheels, which is intended for use as a primary residential structure that is not a mobile home, manufactured home, or park trailer, as defined by Chapter 320, Florida Statutes (2018). A Tiny House on Wheels must meet all of the following conditions:
- It must be towable by a vehicle with a bumper hitch, frame-towing hitch, or fifth-wheel connection; and
- It cannot be designed to be moved under its own power; and
- It must comply with the dimensional and weight limits established by the State of Florida for vehicles using public roads.
No license is required for installation of a Tiny House on Wheels; however, license requirements still apply for connection to electrical and plumbing services.
- Property owners acting as their own contractor, Owner/Builder, must appear in person
|Application for Building Permit||N/A|
|Owner Builder Application for Contractor Exemption||if you are an Owner/Builder|
|Subcontractor Authorization Form||is required for each subcontractor|
|Landscaping Land Clearing Affidavit||N/A|
|Florida Department of Environmental Health septic permit||or other approval document, if on septic system|
|Notice of Commencement (NOC)||
required if job value exceeds $2,500.00
*Note: NOC must be recorded with the Clerk of Courts and uploaded, then approved by Planning & Development, prior to scheduling inspections.
|Plans||Home floor plan, foundation plan showing pier spacing and anchor details and specifications, and electric service riser diagram.|
|Plot Plan||Dimensioned plot plan drawn to scale showing the location of the proposed Tiny House on Wheels.|
We are encouraging all customers to submit documents in digital format. For Brevard's Advanced Service Site (BASS) applications all documents can be uploaded directly to the permit application. For Walk-in applications documents may be submitted on a compact disc or flash/thumb drive.
The fees listed herein are intended to assist in estimating total permit fees. Fees for individual projects may vary dependent on circumstances. Fees on permit applications entered incorrectly or in error, including but not limited to, duplicate entries, will not be refunded.
|Application Processing Fee||$25.00 Due at application submittal|
|Unlicensed Contractor Activity Enforcement||$10.00 Due at application submittal|
|Building Code Review||$100.00 Flat Fee|
|Florida State Surcharge F.S. 468.631 BCA||1.5% of the Building Code fees above (which includes the Application Fee) or $2.00 whichever is greater|
|Florida State Surcharge F.S. 553.721 FBC||1% of the Building Code fees above (which includes the Application Fee) or $2.00 whichever is greater|
|Land Development Review||$90.00 – $300.00 Base Fee|
|Natural Resources Review||$90.00 - $300.00 Natural Resources Base Fee|
$90.00 - $300.00 Landscape Base Fee
|Utilities Review||Varies by project, contact Utility Services Department|
|Zoning Review||$36.00 Base Fee|
|Impact Fees||Impact Fees details.Due prior to final inspection.|